Raymond Antrobus

One of Owen Sheers’ selected writers for the International Literature Showcase


“In Raymond Antrobus’s multi award-winning debut collection The Perseverance poems about masculinity, loss, silenced voices, the d/deaf experience and personal and communal inheritance are braided together to create a wonderfully moving and powerful whole. Imbued with the directness of performance, the authenticity of experience and the touch of a master craftsman, The Perseverance is a book that resonates with a reader long after the last page is turned.”

– Owen Sheers


Searching, reflective, sanguine, vulnerable, direct, historical, relevant, multi-textural, rhythmical, intersectional.

Raymond Antrobus is a British poet with Jamaican heritage and is the author of ‘The Perseverance’ among other titles. In 2019 he was a recipient of the Ted Hughes Award and won the Sunday Times/University of Warwick Young Writer of the Year Award. He was also the first poet to be awarded the Rathbone Folio Prize.

Read an interview with Raymond at NPR.

Listen to Raymond reading from The Perserverance

‘His monologues are stunning studies of voice and substance, and his lyric poems are graceful and finely crafted’ – Kwame Dawes

He makes the reader/listener experience moments with all the senses and very skilfully sets that up against a harsher reality’ – Imtiaz Dharker

‘As searching a poet as you’re likely to find writing today’ – Kaveh Akbar

‘Proud to be included in a centuries deep lineage of literature in the English speaking world.’



Download and read an extract from The Perseverance

Shapes & Disfigurements (2011)
To Sweeten Bitter (2017)
The Perseverance (2018)
Can Bears Ski? (2020)
All The Names Given (2021)

Contact Raymond


Twitter: @RaymondAntrobus

Instagram: raymond_antrobus

Website: https://www.raymondantrobus.com


David Higham Associates


Picador, Penned in the Margins, Walker Books


Author image © Caleb Femi