Previous winners

East Anglian Book Awards 2016 winners

Overall East Anglian Book of the Year winner

The Crime Writer by Jill Dawson (Hodder & Stoughton)

Biography & Memoir (Judge – Sophie Scott-Brown)

Jumpin’ Jack Flash by Keiron Pim (Jonathan Cape)

Fiction (Judge – Elizabeth Haynes)

The Crime Writer by Jill Dawson (Hodder & Stoughton)

General Non-Fiction (Judge – Bruce Kemble-Johnson)

Lost Country Houses of Norfolk: History, Archaeology and Myth by Tom Williamson, Ivan Ringwood and Sarah Spooner (Boydell & Brewer)

History and Tradition (Judge – Trevor Heaton)

Heyday: Britain and the Birth of the Modern World by Ben Wilson (Weidenfeld & Nicolson)

The Mal Peet Children’s Book Award (Judge – Sheridan Winn)

Longbow Girl by Linda Davies (Chicken House)

Poetry (Judge – Briony Bax)

The Print Museum by Heidi Williamson (Bloodaxe)

Norfolk Library Service Readers’ Recommendation Award

The Elegant Fowl by Alan Marshall

Exceptional Contribution Award

Ronald Blythe, author of Akenfield

Book by the Cover Award

Shona Branigan, The Print Museum

Previous ‘Book of the Year’ winners

2015 – Threads: The Delicate Life of John Craske, by Julia Blackburn (Jonathan Cape)
2014 – After Me Comes The Flood, by Sarah Perry (Serpent’s Tail)
2013 – Masterpieces: Art and East Anglia, edited by Ian Collins (East Publishing / SCVA)
2012 – The Last Hunters, by Candy Whittome (Full Circle Editions)
2011 – Edith Cavell, by Diana Souhami (Quercus)
2010 – The Widow’s Tale, by Mick Jackson (Faber and Faber)
2009 – Building Norfolk, by Matthew Rice (Frances Lincoln)
2008 – Scapegallows, by Carol Birch (Virago)