Writing Places has made it possible to bring together writers and translators in a series of international workshops and mentoring opportunities.

Literary Translation Winter School

In January 2017, we organised a Literary Translation Winter School at Jadavpur University, in partnership the Centre for the Translation of Indian Literatures and the British Centre for Literary Translation. Three writers from Norwich – Lucy Hughes-Hallett, Tiffany Atkinson and Sarah Bower – were translated into Bengali, while Dr Ramkumar Mukhopadhyay (Bangla), Dr Gourahari Das (Odia) and Udai Thulung (Nepali) were translated into English.

Workshop leaders

  • Professor Jatindra Kumar Nayak (Odia-English)
  • Arunava Sinha (Bangla-English)
  • Dr Seemantini Gupta (English-Bangla)
  • Shradhanjali Tamang (Nepali-Bangla/English)


  • Dr Sayantan Dasgupta, CENTIL
  • Professor Duncan Large, BCLT

BCLT International Literary Translation and Creative Writing Summer School

In July 2017, we supported a Bengali-English translation workshop at the summer school, with participants working with translator Arunava Sinha to translate extracts from a novel by Kolkata-based writer-journalist Sirsho Bandopadhyay, who also attended the workshop.

Arunava Sinh leading a session at the BCLT International Literary Translation and Creative Writing Summer School (c) Anita Staff

Emerging Translator Mentorships

Several Indian languages have been incorporated into the National Centre for Writing’s mentoring programme, including:

  • Bengali – Somrita Ganguly with mentor Arunava Sinha
  • Hindi – Agnel Joseph with mentor Jason Grunebaum
  • Malayalam – Aswathy Senan with mentor J Devika
  • Tamil – Suchitra Ramachandran with mentors Subashree Krishnaswamy and Dilip Kumar

The 2018 Harvill Secker Young Translators’ Prize will focus on Bengali. The winning translator will be awarded and a mentorship with the renowned translator Arunava Sinha, plus £1,000 and a selection of Harvill Secker books.

The judges will consider translations of the short story ‘Half-Timer Pawre’ by Shamik Ghosh, from his collection Elvis O Amolasundari. This year’s prize will be judged by translator Arunava Sinha, anthropologist and novelist Tahmima Anam, writer and television presenter Konnie Huq and Harvill Secker editor Mikaela Pedlow.

Deadline for entries: 28 August 2018. To enter and for further information, please visit

Somrita Urni Ganguly and Pritam Banerjee (c) Flo Reynolds