UEA New Forms Award 2020 shortlist


We are delighted to reveal the shortlist for the inaugural UEA New Forms Award, seeking fiction that explores the boundaries of possibility.

The winner of the UEA New Forms Award 2020 will be announced on Thursday 2 July 2020.

Taylor Beidler

A byproduct of the American Midwest, Taylor Beidler is a London-based playwright, prose, and performance artist. She holds an MA (Distinction) in Scriptwriting from the University of East Anglia, and is currently finishing her MSt in Creative Writing at the University of Oxford, where she is working on a novel. This past year, Taylor was longlisted for the Snoo Wilson Prize for Scriptwriting, and had two creative non-fiction pieces shortlisted for the Show Me Yours Prize. She is the Resident Dramaturg for The New Collectives. She provided written material for AMC, and is under option for an original series with Silverprint Pictures.


Michael Salu

Michael Salu is a writer, artist, critic and creative director. His work centres on multidisciplinary practice, most recently on where the evolving semantics of technology, language and identity meet. His work has appeared in publications including Freeman’s Journal and Catapult.

Michael has contributed to the art and media curriculums of universities including The Royal College of Art, Kingston University, Birmingham University and Norwich University. He’s been an advisor to the AOI (Association of Illustrators), mentor with The Photographers Gallery and guest speaker at live events including TEDx and 5×15.

Michael is the founder of House of Thought, a story-led digital consultancy. Website


James Smart

James Smart is a writer from the North of England and a graduate of the Creative Writing MFA at the University of East Anglia. He was the winner of the award for Best New Writer with Glimmertrain and was shortlisted for the 2018 Commonwealth Writers Short Story Prize. He has been nominated twice for the Pushcart Prize and once for the Best of the Net award. He is continuing to work on the experimental novel he submitted for the UEA New Forms Award and a collection of short stories. He lives in Norwich and tweets @notjamessmart.

Longlisted writers

Stephen Bernard

Tim Cooke

Sam Hacking

Kerry Hood

Lou Kramskoy

Michael Loveday

S.A MacLeod

Tessa Norton

Brenda Parker

Han Smith

Rebecca Tantony

Polly Wright

Stay up to date! Subscribe to receive the latest news, articles and offers from NCW.