On Tuesday 7 June the National Centre for Writing announced the 2022 shortlist for the £4,000 UEA New Forms Award, which will champion bold innovation in craft, rewarding a daring new voice in fiction.

Vida Adamczewski

Vida Adamczewski was born in Peckham, South East London. She read Politics, Philosophy and Economics at Oxford University, graduating in 2019. While studying, Vida was diagnosed with Hypermobility Syndrome and Chronic Fatigue, conditions that render her frequently bed bound. This horizontal perspective permeates her poetry, prose and journalism. Her writing has appeared in Ambit Magazine, Document Journal, The Byline Times, and The Mays. In July 2021, a staged reading of Vida’s lyric play Amphibian was performed at the Playmill New Writers Festival at the King’s Head Theatre in Islington.

Rachel Cleverly

Rachel Cleverly is a poet and producer. She is a Barbican Young Poet, an Old Vic Theatre Maker and an alumnus of Apples and Snake’s ‘The Writing Room’ and BBC Words First. She has an MA in Creative Writing from UEA, and has been published by flipped eye publishing, SPAM, ACHE Magazine, The Feminist Library, Ink, Sweat & Tears and Black Sunflowers Press among others. Rachel works as an Education Officer at The Poetry Society, where she manages the Foyle Young Poets of the Year Award.

Jasmine Farndon

Jasmine Farndon is a poet, photographer and non-fiction writer hailing from South London and based in Bristol. Fusing together different genres and artistic mediums, her work aims to expand the everyday experience through an intimate documentary style. After a childhood spent climbing trees and quietly pondering, she started her creative life as a spoken word poet but now spends long solitary evenings working on her first book-length project. Alongside writing, she works in community mental health and behind a bar, volunteers in a community kitchen and facilitates a working class writers group in Bristol.

The winner will be announced on Friday 1 July.


Commended writers

Chris Barkley

Martin Heslop

Emily Robinson

Phoebe Stuckes

Mika Royd

Emma Gomis

Marta Bausells

Jon Stone

Stay up to date! Subscribe to receive the latest news, articles and offers from NCW.