Laura Kinsella Fellowship 2020 shortlist


We are delighted to reveal the shortlist for the inaugural Laura Kinsella Fellowship, intending to support one exceptionally talented early career writer of literary fiction.

The winner of the Laura Kinsella Fellowship 2020 will be announced on Thursday 2 July 2020.

Salli Hansell

Salli Hansell is a writer who plays with history like a cat with a spider. She asks her reader to walk through the sometimes disturbing realms of what might have been, pushing boundaries; her business is counter-history.

Salli has gained a portfolio of recognition (long-listed for Mslexia, Escalator 2016-17, short-listed for ‘Common People’ and winner of the 2019 ‘Free with Words’ Scholarship).


K Patrick

K Patrick is an emerging writer. Their work focuses on how text holds onto, and releases, the queer body.


Michelle Perkins

Born in the UK, Michelle left home at eighteen to train as a nurse in London. She began writing during an undergraduate degree in Fine Art, at Goldsmith’s in the 1990s. Working in nursing and on community arts projects, and later as a gardener following a move to Somerset; writing was often little more than journal entries and notes. However, in 2015, after three years of personal upheaval, and a year spent working on an Italian farm; she returned to the west country to begin again, this time with writing as her focus.


Longlisted writers

Tabitha Bast

Maria Hummer

Sumaya Kassim

Lauren Pinnington

Louise Marie Powell

Zoë Ranson

Sally Shaw

Shereen Tadros

Imolé Thomas

Lauren Van Schaik

Stay up to date! Subscribe to receive the latest news, articles and offers from NCW.