Literary translation

Meet the Future of Literary Translation

Thursday 28 March
16.00 - 17.00

Join us to celebrate another successful year of the Emerging Translator Mentorships programme.

We are delighted to host a special event showcasing work from our latest cohort of literary translators into English, who are breaking new ground.

The Emerging Literary Translators programme aims to develop successive new cohorts of literary translators into English, particularly for languages whose literature is currently under-represented in English translation. Since its inception the programme has supported 131 translators in more than 35 languages, including International Booker Prize long-and-shortlistees Nicky Smalley, Reuben Woolley and Sophie Hughes.

Meet our talented 2024 graduates. Fresh from six months’ mentoring, they present short introductions and readings from their translation projects.

  • Khadija Aidoo – Québec French (mentored by Sarah Ardizzone)
  • Rilla Melati Bahri – Malay (mentored by Jeremy Tiang)
  • Charlotte Goff – Japanese (mentored by Polly Barton)
  • Alex Mepham – Norwegian (D/deaf, Disabled and/or Neurodivergent Mentorship, mentored by Khairani Barokka)
  • Joheun Lee – Korean (mentored by Clare Richards)
  • Nasim Luczaj – Polish (mentored by Sean Gasper Bye)
  • Sean McDonagh – Italian (mentored by Elena Pala)
  • Tayiba Sulaiman – Swiss German (mentored by Jamie Lee Searle)
  • Victoria Issa Yacoub – Arabic (mentored by Sawad Hussain)

Read more about the translators here.

The event is pre-recorded and will be hosted online. Register to receive your free streaming link. You can engage with our literary translators via live chat during the showcase premiere.

Hard copies of the anthology can be purchased online for free (p&p applies) — details to be announced shortly.

Supported by Arts Council England, the Sheikh Zayed Book Award, the Italian Cultural Institute, the Yanai Initiative for Globalizing Japanese Humanities at UCLA and Waseda University, the Literary Translation Institute of Korea, the Polish Cultural Institute, the Québec Government Office in London, the National Arts Council Singapore, the Society of Authors and ProHelvetia.