The shortlist

The shortlist for the coveted East Anglian Book Awards 2019 has been revealed. With over 90 eligible books submitted by more than 60 publishers, the judges have whittled down the list to just three entries per category.

Now in their twelfth year, the awards celebrate writing talent within the East of England. The East Anglian Book Awards are a partnership between Jarrold, EDP, and the National Centre for Writing, supported by UEA Faculty of Arts & Humanities and the PACCAR Foundation.


Biography & Memoir

Judged by Chris Rushby, former Book Buyer at Jarrold

Eye on the Hill: Horse Travels in Britain by Richard Barnes (Frontier)

The Easternmost House by Juliet Blaxland (Sandstone)

The Photographer at Sixteen by George Szirtes (Maclehose)



Judged by Dr Kate Mattocks, UEA

I Thought I Knew You by Penny Hancock (Mantle)

The Rumour by Lesley Kara (Corgi)

How It Ends by Saskia Sarginson (Piatkus)


General Non-Fiction

Judged by Christine Webber, author

A Claxton Diary: Further Field Notes from a Small Planet by Mark Cocker (Jonathan Cape)

Landscape of Towers by Clive Dunn (Lasse Press)

Wings Over Water by Alan Marshall (Mascot Media)


History & Tradition

Judged by Prof. Katy Cubitt, UEA

From Bears to Bishops: Norfolk’s Medieval Church Carvings by Paul Harley (Mascot Media)

A Very Dangerous Locality by Robert Liddiard and David Sims (University of Hertfordshire Press)

Crossing the Bar by Robert Smith with Zoe Dunford (Harbour Master)


The Mal Peet Children’s Award

Judged by Rowan Mantell, Archant

Between Worlds: Folktales of Britain and Ireland by Kevin Crossley-Holland (Walker)

Grumpy Duck by Joyce Dunbar and Petr Horacek (Walker)

How to Help a Hedgehog and Protect a Polar Bear by Jess French and Angela Keoghan (Nosy Crow)



Judged by Matt Howard, author and winner of the EABA Poetry Award 2018

Girl by Rebecca Goss (Carcanet)

The Built Moment by Lavinia Greenlaw (Faber)

The Anatomical Venus by Helen Ivory (Bloodaxe)


The main prize of £1,000 will be awarded to the overall East Anglian Book of the Year, courtesy of the PACCAR Foundation, which is chosen from the six winners of the subject categories (Fiction, Biography and Memoir, History and Tradition, General Non-Fiction, Poetry, and the Mal Peet Children’s Award).

Since the awards launched in 2008, they have highlighted the works of approximately 150 authors, 200 titles, and more than 100 publishers.To qualify, works must be set largely in East Anglia or be written by an author living in the region – which is defined as Norfolk and Suffolk, Essex and area of Fenland District Council.

Books must have been physically published for the first time between July 28, 2018 and July 26, 2019 – and must have been commercially available in physical bookshops.

Chris Gribble, Chief Executive of the National Centre for Writing, said:

“This is the twelfth year of the East Anglian Book Awards, and what a promising year it has been so far. We’ve received over 90 books from more than 60 publishers, showing once again that the creativity and talent of our region is truly flourishing.

We’re incredibly excited by the shortlist that the judges have selected this year – these are stories that give life and voice to East Anglia’s past, present and future.”

Discover who the winners of this year’s awards are – as well as the winner of the East Anglian Book of the Year Award – at the East Anglian Book Awards 2019 and Jarrold Literary Lunch on Friday 15 November, at Norwich City Football Club >>