How to enter

The East Anglian Book Awards – now in its 11th year – is open for applications!

We welcome entries in the following categories:

  • Fiction
  • Poetry
  • History and Tradition
  • Biography and Memoir
  • General Non-Fiction
  • Children’s Books

A winner from each of the six subject categories will be chosen; one of which will receive the overall East Anglian Book of the Year Award, with a top prize of £1,000 courtesy of the PACCAR Foundation.

This year will also see the return of the ‘Lifetime Achievement Award’ in local publishing, as well as the ‘Book by the Cover’ design award, sponsored by East Anglian Writers.

To qualify, works have to be set largely in East Anglia or be written by an author living in the region, which, for the awards’ purposes, is defined as the counties of Norfolk and Suffolk, and the area of Fenland District Council.

Books must have been physically published for the first time between 21 July 2017 and 27 July 2018, and must have been commercially available in bookshops.

To enter, simply submit two physical copies of your nominated book, plus a covering letter which includes details of which category you would like it to be entered for.

You should include an email address if you would like your entry to be acknowledged.

Please note we are unable to return entries.

Send your entries to:

Florence Reynolds
East Anglian Book Awards
National Centre for Writing
Dragon Hall
115-123 King Street

Any entry queries should also be sent to with ‘EABA’ in the subject line.

The closing date for entries is noon on Friday 27 July 2018. To help the judging process, please do not leave your entry to the last minute.

All titles will be considered before the judges draw up their shortlist for each category.

Please note that organisers reserve the right to withdraw or amend any category depending on the number of entries received. Due to the volume of entries, we regret that we are not able to give feedback to entrants.

This shortlist will be published in the Eastern Daily Press, Evening News, East Anglian Daily Times and online, by early October. Shortlisted authors or their publishers will also be informed directly.