The search is on for the best books from the East of England

The East Anglian Book Awards – now in its 12th year – is open for entries!

The Awards celebrate the outstanding literary culture of our region by recognising the books and writers who have been shaped by, and have helped to shape, the culture of the East of England.

Since the awards began they have highlighted the work of almost 150 authors, 190 titles and more than 90 publishers. Previous winner Sarah Perry went on to win the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction and became a Waterstones Book of the Year.

The award partners are the Norwich-based National Centre for Writing, the University of East Anglia, Jarrold and the Eastern Daily Press. They are supported by the PACCAR Foundation.

How to enter

We welcome entries in the following categories:

  • Fiction
  • Poetry
  • History and Tradition
  • Biography and Memoir
  • General Non-Fiction
  • Children’s Books

We welcome illustrated books in every category.

A winner from each of the six subject categories will be chosen; one of which will receive the overall East Anglian Book of the Year Award, with a top prize of £1,000 courtesy of the PACCAR Foundation.

This year will also see the return of the ‘Exceptional Contribution Award’ in local publishing, as well as the ‘Book by the Cover’ design award, sponsored by East Anglian Writers.

To qualify works must be set largely in East Anglia or be written by an author living in the region, which for the Awards’ purposes is defined as the counties of Norfolk, Suffolk, Essex, and the area of Fenland District Council.

Books must have been physically published for the first time between 28 July 2018 and 26 July 2019, and must have been commercially available in bookshops. E-books and books available only from online retailers are not eligible.

To enter, simply submit two physical copies of your nominated book, plus a hard copy covering letter which includes details of which category you would like it to be entered for. Please include an email address and/or phone number on your covering letter. Entries without a covering letter will not be considered.

Please note that we are unable to return entries.

Send entries to:

East Anglian Book Awards
National Centre for Writing
Dragon Hall
115-123 King Street
NR1 1QE.

Any entry queries should be addressed to with ‘EABA’ in the subject line.

The closing date for entries is noon on Friday 26 July 2019. To help the judging process, please do not leave your entry to the last minute.

All titles will be considered before the judges draw up their list for each category.

The organisers reserve the right to withdraw or amend any category depending on the number of entries received. Due to the volume of entries, we regret that we are not able to give feedback to entrants.

This shortlist will be published in the Eastern Daily Press, Evening News, East Anglian Daily Times and online, by early October. Shortlisted authors or their publishers will also be informed directly.