Lessons in Love and Other Crimes

Elizabeth Chakrabarty

Published by The Indigo Press

Tesya has reasons to feel hopeful after leaving her last job, where she was subjected to a series of anonymous hate crimes. Now she is back home in London to start a new lecturing position, and has begun an exciting, if tumultuous, love affair with the enigmatic Holly. But this idyllic new start quickly sours.

Tesya finds herself victimised again at work by an unknown assailant, who subjects her to an insidious, sustained race hate crime. As her paranoia mounts, Tesya finds herself yearning for the most elemental of desires: love, acceptance, and sanctuary. Her assailant, meanwhile, is recording his manifesto, and plotting his next steps.

Lessons in Love and Other Crimes is a gripping novel about the most quotidian of crimes. Exploring queer love, loneliness and the insidious nature of hate, this is a compulsive read, bookended by personal essays from the author. Perfect for fans of Louise Doughty, Bernardine Evaristo, Claudia Rankine and Sophie Ward.

‘An important new voice for our troubled times. Vibrant and passionate storytelling.’ – Tessa McWatt

‘Fierce, contemporary and completely absorbing.’ – Preti Taneja, author of We That Are Young

Buy now

 

 

Elizabeth Chakrabarty is an interdisciplinary writer who uses creative and critical writing to explore themes of race, gender and sexuality. Her debut novel Lessons in Love and Other Crimes was published by the Indigo Press in 2021. 

Elizabeth was shortlisted for the Dinesh Allirajah Prize for Short Fiction 2022. Her story ‘Eurovision’ was shortlisted for the Asian Writer Short Story Prize 2016 and published in Dividing Lines (Dahlia Publishing, 2017). Her poetry has been published by Visual Verse and her shorter creative-critical work includes pieces in New Writing Dundee, Glänta, Wasafiri and the anthology Imagined Spaces (Saraband, 2020).

← Back to the Desmond Elliott Prize 2022

Stay up to date! Subscribe to receive the latest news, articles and offers from NCW.